Ales Over ALS - A Crafter's Delight

Ales Over ALS - A Crafter's Delight Saturday, October 5, 2013 - 12noon to 5pm
Waterline Center at the Essex Shipbuilding Museum
Essex, Massachusetts

Second Annual ALES over ALS - A Crafter's Delight is a celebration of all things locally crafted from farm, sea, and brew kettle -- in support of the continued quest to find a cure for ALS (also known as Lou Gehrig's disease). All proceeds from this fundraising event will go directly to the ALS Therapy Development Institute (ALS TDI) -- the world's largest, nonprofit research facility solely dedicated to curing ALS. Located in Cambridge, MA, ALS TDI is dedicated to developing viable treatments and a cure for this incurable, degenerative neurological disease.

The evening will be highlighted by a home brewing competition set in the historic Essex Shipbuilding Museum. The event will feature hand-crafted beers from amateur home brewers that will be judged by special guests as well as by fundraiser attendee
s. Cape Ann Brewing Co. will brew the winning home-brewer's entry in the competition. Proceeds from the sale of this one-time draft release will go towards helping to develop a cure for ALS.

Food will be provided by Woodman's of Essex; the Village Restaurant; Iggy's Bread; and by other local supporters. Fresh, locally brewed beer will be provided by Cape Ann Brewing Co., Gloucester, MA.

General Admission Ticket: $75
General Admission Ticket to this 21+ event includes the following:
  • Event Admission
  • Beers From Local Breweries
  • A sample of each competition brew
  • Unlimited local foods: slow-roasted meats, fresh seafood, and vegetarian options

Community Support Proudly Provided By:


General Terms and Conditions:
Please read and understand the following terms and conditions as they are binding for all ticket purchases.
  • No exchange of tickets will be made under any circumstances and tickets are not transferable.
  • No refund on tickets will be made under any circumstances.
  • Purchaser MUST present ID upon check in..
  • Event organizers reserve the right without refund or compensation to refuse admission to any persons whose conduct is disorderly or unbecoming.
  • Event organizers may add, withdraw or substitute beers and/or vary advertised program details without prior notice.
  • Event organizers may use the ticket holder's image or likeness in any live or recorded video display, photograph or picture.
  • Event organizers may postpone, cancel, interrupt or stop the event due to adverse weather, dangerous situations, or any other causes beyond reasonable control.
  • The Ticket Holder voluntarily assumes all risk and danger incidental to the event whether occurring prior to, during or subsequent to the actual event, including any death, personal injury, loss, damage or liability.
  • By transacting on our website, purchaser certifies that purchaser is at least 21 years of age and understands the conditions of use.


If you do not want to buy a ticket, but would like to contribute, please make a donation here by clicking the "Donate Now" button below. If you have purchased a ticket, and would like to increase your donation, you may do so here. Thank you for your support.

  • Ben Engle

  • David And Michelle Kempskie

  • Matthew J Mckinnon

  • Arthur A Daniels

  • Karen Karim


  • Mathew Savage

  • Richard Rosenfield

  • Neil Currie

  • Beth Weston

  • Richard Viglione

  • Denise B Senecal

  • Vincent D Tibbetts Jr

  • Alison L Taylor

  • Jason T Kaufman

  • Diane Mulkern

  • Gay Raftery

  • Ira W Crowe

  • John R Adam

  • Joann Bell

  • James G Clyde

  • Sally Smithwick

  • Rolando Capanna

  • Arlene M Mclean

  • Ambrose Environmental Management Inc

  • Ronald L Garry

  • Labate Custom Homes Inc

  • Elizabeth B Akerley

  • Nancy Frates

  • Janet Trefry

  • Jeanne M Boland

  • Peter Coakley

  • Seth R Bailey

  • Catherine M Mccarthy

  • Richard R Audette

  • George Pickering

  • Allison Gustavson

  • Anette Adams

  • Stephen Wong

  • Joshua Taylor

  • Mary Murphy

  • David Kempskie

  • Michael Smither

  • Nick Novello

  • Scott Falk

  • Eileen Kelley

  • Joe and Carol

  • Elizabeth Erna

  • Alejandro Perez

  • Michael O'Connor

  • Sandra Heacock

  • Joseph McFadden

  • Cynthia Mears

  • Eian Woodman

  • Brian Silva

  • Stephen Wong

  • Joshua Taylor

  • Gabriel Rossi

  • Elizabeth Donhauser

  • Felix Winkler

  • Matthew Poirier

  • Christine Woodman

  • Mark Tessicini

  • Gregory Marron

  • Kim Reynolds Reid

  • Patricia Salvucci

  • Jiankuan Ye

  • Katrina Tessicini

  • Penny Warren

  • Mark Bappe

  • Amol Akalkotkar

  • Amy Ross

  • Daniel Burfoot

  • Barbara McLaughlin

  • Francesco Spagna

  • Nebojsa Obradovic

  • Vartika Singh

  • Jonathan Woodman

  • Chris Koeplin

  • Dawn Toye

  • Laura Feltus

  • Lee Spence

  • Jeffrey O'Neill

  • Alexandre Glorieux

  • Rachel Rose

  • David Kempskie

  • Marianthe Mewkill

  • Valerie Capanna

  • Stephen Woodman

  • Jennifer Leisman

  • Kenneth Lawler

  • Ryan Mcgovern

  • Martha Cox-Stavros

  • Linda Borland

  • Frank Biscardi

  • Daniel Davies

  • Leslie PEARLMAN

  • Matthew Pambianchi

  • Margaret Mead

  • Joseph Nardi

  • Gordon Breidenbach

  • Juan DelPrado

  • Michael Smither

  • Alina Perez

  • Christie Kent

  • Gail Coote

  • Tyler Virden

  • Peter Giuffre

  • Scott Falk

  • Eileen Kelley

  • Elaine Butter

  • Kate Mitchell

  • Janice Ambrose

  • Diane Grimaldi

  • Linda Cohan

  • Rinaldo Dorman

  • John Sweeney

  • JoAnn Bell

  • Elizabeth Erna

  • Gene Tessicini

  • Alejandro Perez

  •  ~ ~ ~ 

Donate NOW

Mail donations to:
300 Technology Square
Suite 400
Cambridge, MA 02139

Please make checks payable to:


2012 Judges
(1 Photos)


Webmaster, the 2012 judges photo, any chance names can be added?